Murky Deep

Posted: July 27, 2010 in Poetry

by Emanuel Shajhef Quinton

No matter what I say or do, nothing makes a
difference.
No caring, no sharing, no concern.
Give a little just to get a lot of pain is
often true; that phrase has double meaning
whenever I think of you.
No time of day, nor hour of night,
can suppress in me the pain I fight.
It doesn’t seem you truly mean the words you
say when you say what you say to me.
Have you ever really cared at all?
So why the lies and deceptions,
Just to get a little further in life?
Why the bountiful misconceptions?
It’s not all right with me, my ships been
sunk many times you see.
My life jacket is worn, my clothes are torn,
and I’ve never really learned to swim.
Just a few more times and I’ll surely drown,
down below the murky deep.

Copyright © 2009
Comments
  1. Kirsten says:

    I like this one!

  2. Alexa Jade says:

    I have something I wrote when contemplating loves that I have experienced loss over. It came to me one day in a blaze of emotions. It is actually a song, perhaps someday I will be able to sing it to you. Until then, I leave you with the words.

    Sunny Days

    Somewhere there is someone who is crying
    Over a love that has been broken away.
    There is someone else that is rejoicing
    For the new love that they have gained today.

    Sometimes things don’t happen as we plan them, but in time the best things for us will be seen.
    Bad times they may hurt, but the pain will dim.
    The light of joy will soon blot out what might have been.

    [Chorus]
    I never meant to hurt you
    Somethings just aren’t meant to be.
    Sunny days they are not guaranteed forever.
    Loves come and go don’t cry when their days pass away
    Instead try to find a smile because they were.

    Storm clouds they have a silver lining.
    The darkest night is just before the dawn.
    Through the hard times keep the faith strong standing
    The sun has just been covered it’s not gone.

    [Chorus]
    I never meant to hurt you
    Somethings just aren’t meant to be.
    Sunny days they are not guaranteed forever.
    Loves come and go don’t cry when their days pass away
    Instead try to find a smile because they were.

    We never mean to hurt, somethings just aren’t meant to be
    Sunny days they are not guaranteed forever.
    Loves come and go don’t cry when there days pass away
    Instead try to find a smile because they were
    Oh oh oh try to find a smile because they were

    If you look you will smile.
    Because they were.

Leave a Reply

